Falling Pianos

All things that "strike a chord" in me.

Ben Folds, Fraggles, and a reminder . . .

 

 

Witness the confluence of some of my favorite things: nerdy piano rock, Fraggles, and goofiness.

This is the new single from Ben Folds Five, and I love it.  It’s just a lot of fun, and the video brings with it a healthy dose of nostalgia.

 

(Watch it all the way to the end for a special bonus.)

The song itself is a great reminder for me that fear need not be a hindrance.  That there unpleasant, necessary things that I will have to undertake.  I can do it anyway.
The first two verses hit on some of my biggest barriers to living out the Jeremiah 29:11 life that God has planned for me.

You might put your love and trust on the line
It’s risky, people love to tear that down
Let ‘em try
Do it anyway
Risk it anyway

And if you’re paralyzed by a voice in your head
It’s the standing still that should be scaring you instead
Go on and
Do it anyway
Do it anyway

 

Risk, I’m discovering, is important.  I’ve spent a lot of time waiting for someone else to create something to fill perceived gaps in my life.  I think many of us do that.  And when nothing comes along to change it, I get bitter and resentful because no one did any

thing about it.

 

Including me.

 

I forget that often.  So, maybe it’s time set aside the fear and frustration and do something.  At least then i can say that I tried.

 

What gaps do you feel in your life right now?  What feels like it’s missing?  What if, instead of waiting for someone to fix it for you, you actually chose to rise up, feel the fear, and “Do It Anyway?”

 

Thanks, Ben Folds, for the great music and making the piano rock.  Thanks, Jim Henson and Fraggles, for making my childhood fun and memorable.  And thanks, God, for the reminder and the kick in the tailbone.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2012 by in Faith, fun, music, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

Too short for a full blog post…

